It is not just a ticket for not having car insurance in Massachusetts it is a crime. Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 90 Section 34J provides “[w]hoever operates or permits to be operated or permits to remain on a public or private way a motor vehicle … during such time as the motor vehicle liability policy or bond or deposit …has not been provided and maintained in accordance therewith shall be punished by a fine of not less than five hundred nor more than five thousand dollars or by imprisonment for not more than one year in a house of correction, or both such fine and imprisonment.”
What this means for you is that if you drive or let someone else drive your car and it is uninsured you can face up to 1 year in jail and/or a fine of $500 – $5000. For you to be found guilty of Uninsured Motor Vehicle the state will have to prove at a criminal trial that you operated or permitted another to operate your motor vehicle, that is was on a public way(that is a road that the general public has access to), and that you did not have the required insurance.
If you have been charged with Driving a Motor Vehicle with No Insurance then you should retain the help of an experienced criminal attorney. Call today for a free consultation with an experienced former prosecutor at 617-466-6068.
David Newton, Esq.