Massachusetts General Law Chapter 90 section 10 provides that “[n]o other person shall so operate unless licensed by the registrar.” Given this it is a criminal offense to drive without a license in Massachusetts. Further, all people residing in Massachusetts for over 30 days are required to get a Massachusetts driver's license.
To be found guilty beyond a reasonable doubt of the crime of unlicensed operation the prosecutor must prove that:
- You operated a motor vehicle;
- That the operation occurred on a public way; and
- That you were not licensed to drive.
Although, the crime of unlicensed operation of a motor vehicle does not come with a possible jail sentence, it will still result in a criminal record if convicted and the penalty for a conviction under Massachusetts General Law chapter 90 section 20 is “that any person convicted of operating a motor vehicle without having been issued a license by the registrar shall be punished by a fine of not less than $100 nor more than $1000.”
Given the fact that unlicensed operation is a crime it is important to engage a criminal defense attorney. It is possible to obtain a favorable outcome if experienced counsel is obtained. The Newton Law Firm is well versed in the crime of unlicensed operation. Call today for a free consultation at 617-466-6068 or 617-449-7441 or visit
David Newton, Esq.
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment